Large climate test chamber

Largest climatic test chamber in Europe

Our climatic test service is used by OEM’s and component suppliers from different industry sectors to test and validate the functional compliance of large and/or heavy electro-mechanical machinery in extreme climatic conditions, from arctic cold to desert heat. Extreme temperature levels, temperature cycles, humidity, and solar infrared heat loads are simulated in the large climate chamber, one of the largest in Europe.

Lab data

Responsibility:
Pieter Jan Jordaens

Do you have a question?

Location

Port of Antwerp | Muisbroeklaan portquay 482
2030 Antwerpen
Belgium

Unique climatic test infrastructure tailored to industry needs

Our large climatic test chamber was designed with a number of unique features in order to facilitate different industries that manufacture large and heavy machinery in their climatic test and validation needs

Size

The large inner dimensions (10.6m x 7m x 8m test space) and more than 150 ton weight capacity make it possible to test heavy machinery or validate multiple prototypes in one test run. The climate chamber is installed on a break-bulk terminal in the port of Antwerp, enabling easy water, train and land logistics and quay handling of the targeted test specimens for our international customers.

Temperature

Test temperatures can range from -60°C to +60°C, making it possible to test every possible ambient temperature on earth in either cold or hot climate markets with high precision ±1K.. The installed cooling power in the laboratory can also compensate 250 kW of heat load at -20°C, 30kW at -60°C and allows us fast cooling of the air temperature in the climate chamber from +60°C to -40°C in one hour. Perfect to validate cold start-up behavior of large and heavy machinery, and test products on a system level.

Humidity

The laboratory is equipped to carry out air humidity and dry-heat tests in a range of ± 2%RH to ±95%RH. Also a IR solar light array with 10 - 950W/m² operating range for solar infrared heat simulation, thermal cycling programming software, exhaust air systems for vehicle testing, air ventilators, ice-spray guns to simulate icing events, different types of temperature sensors and DAQ systems are available to provide a one-stop-shop climatic tests to our customers.

Validating extreme working conditions for different industries

Different machinery like wind turbines components, off-highway vehicles, construction and mining machinery, electrical grid infrastructure, aerospace components and military equipment are often required to survive and operate under extreme temperatures and climatic conditions ranging from artic cold, to tropical heat and/or dry heat desert conditions. We offer unique test infrastructure to test such machinery for every possible climatic condition on earth in order to ensure reliable and save operations in such harsh environments.

Mining machinery and wind turbines in Northern Siberia or Canada, for example, need to withstand temperatures down to -40°C or even -60°C in certain extreme cases. On the other hand, solar energy plants or construction equipment in regions such as India, Australia, and the Middle East must be developed to cope with an ambient temperature rise to +55°C or more. Heating, ventilation and cooling performance (HVAC) of such power plans and the driver comfort for off-highway machinery in such hot climate conditions become of the importance in these regions. Such extraordinary working conditions require extreme testing and validation methods, and dedicated test infrastructure to fulfill customer needs.

Apart from this unique test infrastructure and associated test services, our test lab engineers can also add value in the consultancy support for:

  • Environmental and climatic test planning
  • Climatic test engineering
  • Thermal modelling & simulation, model validation support

What types of machinery can we test?

Off-highway vehicles

(mining, construction, forestry, agricultural, defense, ...) 

Wind energy applications

Energy and power transmission equipment

Aerospace and radar applications

Would you like to test performance of your machinery in extreme conditions?

We offer independent tests tailored to your needs, or we rent out the test facility to your company test and validation department, shared R&D or academic research projects.

Some references

Clients climate chamber

Large climate test chamber

Plus grande chambre climatique d'Europe

Nos services de tests climatiques sont utilisés par les équipementiers et les fournisseurs de composants de différents secteurs industriels pour tester et valider la conformité fonctionnelle de machines électromécaniques lourdes et/ou de grande taille dans des conditions climatiques extrêmes, du froid arctique à la chaleur du désert. Les niveaux de température extrêmes, les cycles de température, l'humidité et les charges de chaleur infrarouge solaire sont simulés dans notre grande chambre climatique, l'une des plus grandes d'Europe.

Données de labo

Responsabilité:
Pieter Jan Jordaens

As-tu une question?

Lieu

Port of Antwerp | Muisbroeklaan portquay 482
2030 Antwerpen
Belgique

Une infrastructure d'essais climatiques unique adaptée aux besoins de l'industrie

Notre grande chambre d'essais climatiques a été conçue avec un certain nombre de caractéristiques uniques afin de répondre aux besoins des différentes industries qui fabriquent des machines lourdes et de grande taille en matière d'essais climatiques et de validation.

Taille

Les grandes dimensions intérieures (espace d'essai de 10,6 m x 7 m x 8 m) et la capacité de charge de plus de 150 tonnes permettent de tester des machines lourdes ou de valider plusieurs prototypes en un seul essai. La chambre climatique est installée dans un terminal dans le port d'Anvers, ce qui facilite la logistique maritime, ferroviaire et terrestre et la manutention à quai des spécimens d'essai ciblés pour nos clients internationaux.

Température

Les températures d'essai peuvent aller de -60°C à +60°C, ce qui permet de tester toutes les températures ambiantes possibles sur terre avec une grande précision ±1K . La puissance de refroidissement installée dans le laboratoire peut également compenser 250 kW de charge thermique à -20°C, 30 kW à -60°C et nous permet de refroidir rapidement la température de l'air dans la chambre climatique de +60°C à -40°C en une heure. Cette solution est idéale pour valider le comportement au démarrage à froid des machines lourdes et de grande taille, et pour tester les produits au niveau des systèmes.

Humidité

Le laboratoire est équipé pour effectuer des tests d'humidité de l'air et de chaleur sèche dans une gamme de ± 2%RH à ±95%RH. Nous disposons également d'un réseau de lampes solaires IR avec une plage de fonctionnement de 10 à 950 W/m² pour la simulation de la chaleur solaire infrarouge, d'un logiciel de programmation des cycles thermiques, de systèmes d'évacuation d'air pour les essais de véhicules, de ventilateurs d'air, de pistolets à glace pour simuler des phénomènes de givrage, de différents types de capteurs de température et de systèmes d'acquisition de données afin d'offrir à nos clients un guichet unique pour les essais climatiques.

Validation des conditions de travail extrêmes pour différentes industries

Climatic test chamber

Différentes machines, comme les composants d'éoliennes, les véhicules hors route, les machines de construction et d'exploitation minière, les infrastructures de réseaux électriques, les composants aérospatiaux et les équipements militaires, doivent souvent survivre et fonctionner dans des températures et des conditions climatiques extrêmes, allant du froid intense à la chaleur tropicale et/ou à la chaleur sèche du désert. Nous offrons une infrastructure d'essai unique pour tester ces machines dans toutes les conditions climatiques possibles sur terre afin de garantir des opérations fiables et sûres dans ces environnements difficiles.

Les machines minières et les éoliennes dans le nord de la Sibérie ou au Canada, par exemple, doivent résister à des températures allant jusqu'à -40°C, voire -60°C dans certains cas extrêmes. En revanche, les centrales solaires ou les équipements de construction dans des régions telles que l'Inde, l'Australie et le Moyen-Orient doivent être conçus pour faire face à une hausse de la température ambiante de +55°C ou plus. Les performances en matière de chauffage, de ventilation et de refroidissement (HVAC) de ces centrales et le confort du conducteur des engins hors route dans des conditions climatiques aussi chaudes prennent toute leur importance dans ces régions. Ces conditions de travail extraordinaires nécessitent des méthodes d'essai et de validation extrêmes, ainsi qu'une infrastructure d'essai dédiée pour répondre aux besoins des clients.

Outre cette infrastructure d'essai unique et les services d'essai associés, nos ingénieurs du laboratoire d'essai peuvent également apporter une valeur ajoutée en matière de conseil :

  • La planification des essais environnementaux et climatiques
  • Ingénierie des essais climatiques
  • Modélisation et simulation thermique, aide à la validation des modèles

Quels types de machines peut-on tester ?

Véhicules hors route

(mines, construction, sylviculture, agriculture, défense, ...)

Applications de l'énergie éolienne

Équipements de transmission d'énergie et de puissance

Applications aérospatiales et radar

Vous souhaitez tester les performances de vos machines dans des conditions extrêmes ?

Nous offrons des tests indépendants adaptés à vos besoins, ou nous louons l'installation d'essai au service d'essai et de validation de votre entreprise, à la R&D partagée ou à des projets de recherche universitaire.

Quelques references

Clients climate chamber